I’m Back!

 

Image result for I'm baaaackI can’t believe more than five years have passed since I have posted. During that time, I have not forgotten about WDM; in fact, I have continued to read his books and have wanted to write about them, but life circumstances just got in the way.

About a month ago, we started looking in earnest for a book for our rising ninth graders to read during the summer months. Last year, they read Dear Martin by Nic Stone and it was a big hit. Teachers integrated themes from the book into their instruction and we were lucky to have Nic Stone visit our high school to talk to the entire ninth grade class. We are looking for something that will at least equal, if not surpass, that experience.

During our search, WDM’s Street Love popped up. Although it was written in 2006, I was not aware of this take on Romeo and Juliet, written in free verse. Since our ninth graders read R&J, it may be a perfect fit. In any case, it will be my next WDM read and will hopefully get me back on track towards my goal of reading all of his work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment